Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Praxeology and Reactive Actions

rated by 0 users
This post has 46 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 17
Points 385
Matthias Jenny Posted: Sun, Feb 3 2008 9:53 AM

Hello everybody,

I'm an undergraduate student of philosophy, economics and sociology at the University of Zurich. Moreover, I'm an associate fellow at the Liberales Institut in Zurich. You can read more about me here.

I handed in a paper last week where I criticize the philosophical basis of praxeology from the perspective of contemporary philosophy of action. I blogged about it here.

In a nutshell: I criticize praxeology's failure to take so called reactive actions into account. Reactive actions is a concept used by Frederick Stoutland to criticize Donald Davidson's and Michael Smith's philosophies of action. Reactive actions do not necessitate the agent having a certain belief towards the action in question but can rather only be understood with the help of a Wittgensteinian rule-following model. Because praxeology bears many similarities to Davidson's and Smith's belief/desire model and because of Mises's and Rothbard's strictness in only allowing two categories of behavior, namely (purposeful) action and involuntary reflexes, praxeology fails to take many of our daily actions into account or, even worse, interprets them in a wrong way. I suspect that the possible validity of my/Stoutland's critique would have quite devastating effects on praxeologist value theory because reactive actions would not reveal any of the agent's preferences if they do not necessitate the agent having certain beliefs.

Anyway, to make a long story short, I'd like to know if there's any known criticism of praxeology that goes along similar lines as the one outlined above.

Thanks for the help in advance!

Best wishes,

Matt