Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Why am I wrong?

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Male
Posts 175
Points 4,205
ChaseCola Posted: Tue, Feb 5 2008 10:59 PM

I am a complete newbie to monetary policy. I am wondering if stocks would be a good currency, there is no problem with the usefullness of the product like gold. I know I must be wrong here, but why?

"The plans differ; the planners are all alike"

-Bastiat

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 251
Points 4,510
leonidia replied on Wed, Feb 6 2008 12:28 AM

I can't see my local supermarket taking stock certificates as payment for my groceries.  Stocks are not uniform, consistent, or redeemable on demand.  In short they do not fit the defintion of money.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 875
Points 14,180
xahrx replied on Wed, Feb 6 2008 2:53 PM

You're wrong because money isn't enforced, it arises on its own, and likely people wouldn't accept stocks as money.  They may be used in individual transactions but will be directly transferred for something else, ie, I'll give you 1000 shares of company x for 500 shares of company y, or some other direct exchange.  Money is something that arises on the market and is used for indirect exchange.  In other words people only buy and hold it because it's a reliable and durable store of value that they can be reasonably sure other people will accept, because it arises as one of the most salable commodities on the market.  Gold and silver arose to fill that role in the past, as have tea leaves, feather, shells, cows, etc.  Stocks don't fit that definition because in our current context it's highly unlikely they would rise up to fill that need in society.