Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Control theory applied to business cycles.

rated by 0 users
This post has 9 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Male
Posts 130
Points 2,625
gussosa Posted: Tue, Feb 19 2008 10:22 AM

I am studying for an exam on Control Theory (the mechatronics stuff) and it came to my mind that I could prove (showing the absurd) the impossibility of controlling economic cycles.

My first idea was to demonstrate that when central banks or economic ministers try to control the economy they are actually just trying to change some variables to control noise (i.e. uncertainty or normal fast variations) and not the actual signal. I always get that impression when I hear they say they want to lower the unemployment by 2% or pump the dollar up by a 10%, all in matter of months or even days.

Then I realized that counter-cycle politics (their favourite recipe) just increase noise and accelerates the sucession of business cycles, thus raising uncertainty. More than everything, because they know so little about the economy (very little can be measured and even less can be controlled) they can't create a valid model, so they are just throwing stabs in the dark.

Are there any books on the subject? I just don't want to reinvent powder. 

Any book dealing with control theory in economics? 

Pity the theory which sets itself up in opposition to the mind!

Carl Von Clausewitz

Top 150 Contributor
Male
Posts 523
Points 8,850
Solredime replied on Tue, Feb 19 2008 12:21 PM

I'm not exactly versed in mechantronics, though I was certainly interested when I found out a subject such as biomechatronics existed. Probably very interesting to study either one of the two.