Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Advice about paying on a loan.

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 4 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
1 Posts
Points 65
sritchie27 posted on Sun, Mar 14 2010 12:31 AM

I would like some financial advice from some people that understand inflation and how it effects personal debt. I know that the intent of this forum is not for people just looking for financial advice, but I think that discussion in this area would be beneficial to more than just me.
I am a recent college graduate, and between my wife and I we have over $80,000 in student loans. We have around $5,000 at 6% interest on a Department of Ed. Loan, around $51,000 at 2.5% interest, over $15,000 at 6.8% interest, and around $8,000 at 4.75% interest.
My question is what is the wisest thing to do right now? I do not have a lot of income. My minimum loan payments all together are around $650 a month.
I know that inflation favors the debtors, so I am wondering how I could benefit in any way with my situation. I have around $4,000 in the bank and I am wondering if I should try and pay down on some of the higher interest loans or invest in some inflation-proof money (precious metals). My reasoning is that I could pay off my debts slower with the minimum payments and allow the ever-inflating federal reserve to devalue the dollar and essentially my loan. I am of course hoping that my income would increase and adjust to the rate of inflation.
I also bring up the question of investing in precious metals in my situation because I am worried about the U.S. going into complete economic collapse. I would like to have some real money such as junk silver coins that I could still use for buying the essentials.