Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Best Economics University?

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 135
Jon T. Posted: Sun, Mar 14 2010 12:28 PM

I am a post professional with a degree in aeronautics and am now at a crossroads in my life after finishing ten years in the military.  I would like to get a second degree in economics but am unsure which universities are best suited to the task.  My previous experiences with economics classes were less than desirable and usually ended in an argument between the professor and me.

Unfortunately I am somewhat limited in the location of said university but am certainly willing to partake in a distance learning program if available.  Being that I am currently located in the Los Angeles area, which college/university would you recommend I attend?

Thanks!

Top 500 Contributor
Male
Posts 358
Points 8,245

Here are the top econ programs ranked by U.S. News and World Report:

http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-graduate-schools/top-economics-schools/rankings

If I were you, I would go to UCLA. It is a good school, it's local, and it should be cheaper than a private school. I doubt that they have any Austrian faculty, but it may still be the best choice for you.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Male
Posts 796
Points 14,585

Jon T.:

I am a post professional with a degree in aeronautics and am now at a crossroads in my life after finishing ten years in the military.  I would like to get a second degree in economics but am unsure which universities are best suited to the task.  My previous experiences with economics classes were less than desirable and usually ended in an argument between the professor and me.