Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Healthcare and perfect inelasticity

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 8 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
8 Posts
Points 385
SG875 posted on Mon, Mar 15 2010 12:31 AM

Hello, I'm rather new to Austrian school theory and am having a bit of trouble forming the bigger picture in regard to health care. I think everyone agrees that health care costs are extremely pricey these days, and though my parents in particular support more regulation and government involvement, I have come to the conclusion that the logic behind the free market approach to health care is much more sound. I have arguments with them about supply and demand and deregulation, but they think I'm crazy for supporting deregulation and the removal of, say, medical school licensing.

In the end, the argument always comes to this point: they argue that because health care is a necessity rather than a want, if there were deregulation, health insurance companies and health providers would be able to milk the consumer for outrageous sums of money, in some cases to the point of financial meltdown. Essentially, their argument is that because most will not choose death or disease over outrageous prices or financial ruin, the laws of supply and demand do not apply to health care. Demand will always be sky high because the alternative to financial distress is even more unappealing.

What is the free market argument against this? I know I'm probably missing something that's staring me right in the face. 

Thanks for the information in advance.

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 50 Contributor
2,417 Posts
Points 41,720
Verified by SG875

SG875: