Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Money and a Congressional Race

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60
TylerFromNE Posted: Fri, Feb 29 2008 3:22 AM

Greetings, all. I've lurked around quite a bit on this site, and I must say that the Austrian perspective is quite refreshing.

Anyways, in my Congressional District there's a guy named Richard Carter; running in the Democratic primary (yeah, I know). He's certainly not a Hayek or Mises, but one thing I did notice in his economic policy plans; which I found interesting, since there is a bit about money:

Monetary Stability

As a trained economist, I know how vital sound money is to the health of our economy; unfortunately, this is important issue is rarely discussed. Our current monetary policy needs to be modernized to reflect the changes globalization has brought about. Due to these developments, the Federal Reserve has been able to expand the supply of money very rapidly without proportional increases in the Consumer Price Index. Loose monetary policy makes for a temporary boom, but it also misleads investors, creating unsustainably high asset prices. This always leads to a painful correction, such as the recent collapse of the housing market and the bursting of the dot com bubble. By passing legislation to strengthen the Fed’s independence, and include asset price stability to the Federal Reserve’s legal mandate, we’ll restore investor confidence in the US economy and ensure strong, stable, long-term economic growth.

I was wondering what you Austrians have to say about that. Would, say, factoring equity prices into the "price stability" mandate of the Fed help to minimize the boom-bust cycle?