Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Inflation v. Unemployment "tradeoff" and Minimum Wage/Unions?

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Posts 67
Points 940
mahsah Posted: Tue, Apr 20 2010 6:25 PM

Hello, I'm still a bit new to economics but I was wondering if anyone had any ideas or comments about this question/idea:

According to the Phillips Curve, there is an inverse relationship relationship between Unemployment and Inflation. I had a somewhat crazy thought of what could explain this: What if this was because of the minimum wage and/or Unions (or any other coersion causing wages higher than the equilibrium).

For example, lets say that in a free market the equilibrium price for labor is $3.5, but the minimum wage is $7. The government doubles the money supply, but the minimum wage or wages set by union contracts do not rise immediately. Thus, the equilibrium price for labor would rise to $7 because the dollar is worth less, and the price floor would become nonbinding for many firms. As a result of this the firms would be able to hire more people, decreasing unemployment. Inflation in this case acts as a counter to minimum wage.

Anyway, I appreciate comments and/or flames about this idea, I just came up with it on a whim today :)

Top 25 Contributor
Male
Posts 4,249
Points 70,775

I like it.

BTW there is a video here somewhere showing how the phillips curve is closer to voodoo than economics.  Maybe someone remembers which it is. Its by a young economist.

And of course we had stagflation under Nixon.

My humble blog

It's easy to refute an argument if you first misrepresent it. William Keizer

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Male
Posts 3,055
Points 41,895