Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Q about forex

rated by 0 users
This post has 2 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 8
Points 210
slindo Posted: Thu, Mar 27 2008 3:30 PM
I am a novice when it comes to financial markets so pardon me if this is a silly question. Why do foreign currencies change value daily? Does this reflect the actual buying power of the currency or the perceived buying power of the currency? Is the currency market a futures market in disguise? To what extent does perception influence reality?
Stephen Lindo
  • | Post Points: 35
Top 150 Contributor
Male
Posts 523
Points 8,850
Solredime replied on Thu, Mar 27 2008 3:50 PM

slindo:
To what extent does perception influence reality?

To the extent that if I imagine a table in front of me, it shall appear! Mwahahaha....sorry I just thought i'd purposefully mis-interpret that comment as something to do with solipsism.

As to your actual question, I hope you're not asking anyone to put a number on these psychological factors, as that would be impossible, or at least any numbers that you could conjur would be terribly inaccurate.