Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Using empirical support only when it suits us?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 19 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
28 Posts
Points 1,010
slugmises posted on Wed, Jan 5 2011 10:31 PM

I read this comment on Krugman's blog that I found relevant to a question I've been thinking:

"As a recovering Austrian economist, I think that the key flaw in Austrian economics is its insistence that economics is an a priori rather than an empirical science. As a result, when empirical evidence supports their positions, they use it. When empirical evidence falsifies their positions, they declare that it's irrelevant because economics is a priori."

This got me thinking back to an inconsistency that I first noticed in Jim Cox's "The Concise Guide to Economics". One such example is his discussion on the Phillips Curve: http://www.conciseguidetoeconomics.com/book/phillipsCurve/

His claim: "Once workers realize that inflation is not undermining the value of money as rapidly as they had anticipated, they lower their wage expectations thereby shortening the duration of the job search and reducing the unemployment rate."

...is then supported by brief statistics showing a relationship between year, inflation, and unemployment. Is this not empirical support? As a newcomer to Austrian Economics, everywhere I have read informs me that there are too many variables for empiricism to be a valid way to understand the economy.

• | Post Points: 110

All Replies

Top 500 Contributor
104 Posts
Points 1,585

It's not a flaw in AE, per se. It's more just a flaw in humans altogether.