Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Local currencies, Beyond Greed and Scarcity by Bernard Lietaer

rated by 0 users
This post has 16 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 55
maikol Posted: Fri, Apr 25 2008 1:22 PM

Beyond Greed and Scarcity
by Bernard Lietaer

http://www.futurenet.org/article.asp?ID=895

I just wanted to know more about this issue from an Austrian perspective.  I am not that experienced in economics, but I find the Austrian philosophy fascinating and I would like to know more about the feasibility and effectiveness of local currencies.

Any thoughts?

Maikol

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 15
Points 240

local / competing currencies, as I understand, are the essence of liberty and will, inevitably, lead to the universal acceptance of a gold standard.  I believe the usage of localized currencies will be fairly widespread within the next 10years.  the past two days, I have become very interested in Bernard and am still doing my homework.

here is the article that ignited my interest

few white papers here

book of interest to me

interview I'm in the middle of reading

hopefully someone has done hw on this guy and can chime in.  otherwise, I hope to add more as I go.

Not Ranked
Posts 15
Points 240

What I’ve gotten so far is that he suggests we invert the investment utility of money as a medium of exchange. Rather than earning money for hoarding money (interest on savings), he evokes the thoughts of Silvio Gesell saying that

...money is a public good - like the telephone or bus transport - and that we should charge a small fee for using it.

For example, depositing 100$ on 1Jan09 will be worth 90$ on 1Jan10 (instead of 110$). This, of course, provides an incentive to keep money flowing into investments other than speculation.