Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

two questions from an econimics newbie

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 4 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
20 Posts
Points 640
MDay1985 posted on Sun, Feb 13 2011 12:15 PM

I am an economic layman, but I want to know more. I recently started reading Murray Rothbard's "What Has Government Done to Our Money?".

I am about 50 pages in and there are  two things that are confusing me.

1) In arguing that money must arise out of a free market process as opposed to government edict, he states that "For embedded in the demand for money is knowledge of the money-prices of the immediate past; in contrast to directly-used consumers’ or producers’ goods, money must have preexisting prices on which to ground a demand". I'm confused as to what he is saying here.

2) He argues that although changes the in money supply confer no societal benefits, "movement in the price of money causes by changes in the demand for money yields a positive social benefit". I understand why a change in the money supply confers no societal benefits, but he loses me when he says that changes in money demand does. Can someone clarify?

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Male
2,687 Posts
Points 48,995

1) In arguing that money must arise out of a free market process as opposed to government edict, he states that "For embedded in the demand for money is knowledge of the money-prices of the immediate past; in contrast to directly-used consumers’ or producers’ goods, money must have preexisting prices on which to ground a demand". I'm confused as to what he is saying here.