Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Commodity Prices & Quantitative Easing

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 9 Replies | 0 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Male
2,687 Posts
Points 48,995
Jonathan M. F. Catalán posted on Tue, Feb 22 2011 11:48 PM

I asked a genuine question on my blog that nobody has answered yet.  I was wondering if someone could give a satisfactory answer on this forum.  I'm just not well versed on how relevant financial institutions operate.  Here is the post reproduced,

There has been a lot of linking of rising commodity prices and money creation by the Federal Reserve.  Recent examples include Mario Rizzo, Mark Thornton, and James Hamilton (sort of).  Certainly, there is strong correlation.  Correlation, however, does not imply causation.

I have little knowledge regarding this part of the financial network.  How does money created during QEI/II get into the hands of investors who then bid this money towards commodities or their futures on the stock market?  Or, is it a question of holding assets other than Federal Reserve notes, out of uncertainty?

In other words, how exactly is this money being injected into the economy that it focuses the new money towards commodities? Or, is it a question of people preferring to hold more of their savings in these commodities, expecting higher returns because of fear of inflation?  It just seems that the latter is not really an accurate explanation.

• | Post Points: 35

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Male
3,055 Posts
Points 41,895

Closest thing I can think of to that is the old Debt and Delusion.  It talks about some things based on commodities, though not the underlying commodities.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
6,953 Posts
Points 118,135