Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Education and voluntarism

rated by 0 users
This post has 264 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 28
Points 875
Herodotus Posted: Sun, Feb 27 2011 11:31 AM

I used to be an ardent, non-violent voluntarist, but gave it up largely because of the difficulty I had in reconciling the principles of anarchism and the duty to educate children.

As a teacher, I am constantly manipulating, threatening, and cajoling students to do what I want. Moreover, my authority often rests on the other forms of motivation coming from their families.

I hate it when teachers talk and behave as if students should listen to them simply because they happen to be "teachers", although I have certainly told a wise-ass or two in class that that was all the justification I needed to do whatever it was I was going to do. Not only does it just irritate the hell out of me, but it is positively counter-productive. I have always believed that a teacher has a responsibility to inspire the students as much as possible, but the space for that inspiration could never occur without some sort of coercion.