Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Logic for beginners...

rated by 0 users
This post has 32 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 17
Points 655
im_retarded Posted: Thu, Mar 24 2011 7:36 AM

Any tips on where to begin? I've become extremely interested in the subject of logic thanks to the Austrian school. Problem is, I have *no clue* where to start. I need entry-level stuff because most of this is going to be self-taught.

I know there's the "stickied" praxeology thread but that's logic specifically in regards to the Austrian school.

• | Post Points: 140
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 263
Points 5,075
Le Master replied on Thu, Mar 24 2011 8:14 AM

There are a number of solid intro. to logic books.

H.W.B. Joseph's An Introduction to Logic is a really well-written exposition of traditional logic. It's loaded with footnotes, original Greek and Latin, and references to sources ancient, scholastic, modern. It's not an easy read, but it's worth going through slowly. It's probably my favorite. 

David Gordon just used George Hayward Joyce's Principles of Logic for his class, I think. It's also a traditional book, but it's easier to read than the above and also comprehensive, and it has great references. 

Mises recomended An Introduction to Logic and the Scientific Method by Morris R. Cohen and Ernest Nagel (I don't think this is available online; though, you may be able to find it on scribd; I'm not sure)  to his students. It's also one of my favorites. It has good exercises, and the appendix is especially neat; it goes over some famous propisitions of Archimedes and Euclid and breaks them up and demonstrates how they are proved.