Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

How Would You Make a Kid Dislike Learning?

This post has 26 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,028
Points 51,580
limitgov Posted: Fri, Apr 8 2011 1:22 PM

I think as humans, we naturally love to learn.  I see it in my children all the time. 

Yet, as a teacher, I'm surrounded by kids who don't want to learn.

How would you get a kid to dislike learning?

• | Post Points: 110
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,162
Points 36,965
I. Ryan replied on Fri, Apr 8 2011 1:26 PM

limitgov:

How would you get a kid to dislike learning?

Force them to learn something they find useless, and do that enough times.

If I wrote it more than a few weeks ago, I probably hate it by now.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 24
Points 480

I would condition them Clockwork Orange style, by mixing learning with lots of unpleasant things.

For example, I would restrict bathroom breaks and meal time and insist on unnecessarily early hours to cause sleep deprivation.

I would also make learning as hard as possible, focusing more time and effort on things the children find too challenging.

Did I take the bait?

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,162
Points 36,965
I. Ryan replied on Fri, Apr 8 2011 1:31 PM

thorell9:

Did I take the bait?

What bait?

• | Post Points: 35
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,360
Points 43,785
z1235 replied on Fri, Apr 8 2011 1:36 PM

Teach him/her (through words and action) that geeks (learners, thinkers, readers, four-eyes, etc.) are sissies that no one respects and everyone beats up. 

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,162
Points 36,965
I. Ryan replied on Fri, Apr 8 2011 1:40 PM

z1235:

Teach (raise) him/her (through words and action) that geeks (learners, thinkers, readers, four-eyes, etc.) are sissies that no one respects and everyone beats up.