Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Can anyone be good at math?

rated by 0 users
This post has 43 Replies | 7 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Male
Posts 358
Points 8,245
Scrooge McDuck Posted: Thu, May 5 2011 6:46 PM

I've recently considered pursuing a degree in one of the math, science, or engineering fields. I have a degree in economics, but I have never been strong in math. Although I do enjoy math, but I never had that "natural" talent. When speaking about my plans everyone keeps brining up "are you good at math?" As if math can't be learned without some herculean effort. 

What are your thoughts on this idea? I feel like it goes into the whole left brain vs right brain idea, which I have heard is erroneous. 

• | Post Points: 185
Not Ranked
Male
Posts 74
Points 1,585
Chris replied on Thu, May 5 2011 6:54 PM

I think that almost anyone can learn the math required to be an engineer (speaking as an engineer). It's just like any other skill that must be learned. The reason that I feel many people state that they are "bad at math" is they simply don't enjoy solving those types of problems.

If you don't enjoy doing something, you're certainly not going to spend much time learning that skill. Just like repairing cars, cooking, making music, or any number of other things, people tend to persue math if they enjoy it.

That's not to say that people don't have natural talent; they do. However, I think that most people have the ability to learn how to use the calculus, differential equations, and physics skills requried to be an engineer. If you like technology, tinkering, and figuring things out, I think it's a great career.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Male
Posts 170
Points 2,290

I agree, I studied math at the end of my degree, best decision ever.