Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

GDP growth during the high tax periods in the '50's

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 14 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
5 Posts
Points 205
SteveZissou posted on Wed, May 11 2011 9:10 AM

I'm new to the Austrian school, and in my discussions with some of my leftist friends, I've seen the GDP growth after WWII cited as evidence that high taxes do not slow economic growth. I've read several articles talking about the situation and how many people really were in that top tax bracket, and other ideas, but I have one other question and want to know if my reasoning is right on this. If imports subtract from GDP, wouldn't the damaged infrastructure in other countries possibly make the imports decline, thus reducing the effect that would have on GDP. Could that not lead to a sort of inflated GDP? I'm certain it would be more complex than that, but is there anything wrong with my thinking, there?

• | Post Points: 95

All Replies

Top 200 Contributor
Male
494 Posts
Points 6,980

Not to worship at the alter of GDP, but...

1. End of war is a good enough cause for growth (or should we just call it rebuilding?).  War destroys wealth.  If you stop war, then you stop the wealth destruction; the misallocation of resources (well not completely, you still have governments).

2. WWII saw a lot of competition either eliminated or set back for quite a few years.  The US most definitely benefitted from this.  First by lack of competition, second by the fact that these other countries (Germany and Japan in particular) were dependent upon American goods and services.

3. There were plenty of technological and cultural advances that occurred during the 50s that had a much greater impact on the economy.