Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Why would a country want to get away from a fiat currency?

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 115
Cool Receptionist Posted: Tue, Oct 16 2007 5:43 AM

I am relatively new to economics and I haven't been indoctrinated in the Austrian School.  I noticed that most of you here take it for granted that a gold standard is superior to a fiat currency.  I know there is always the possibility of the central bank printing too much money, but what other reasons are there?

For those of you who believe Ron Paul's claim that the US needs to return to the gold standard, why and how would this endeavor be worth pursuing?

• | Post Points: 95
Not Ranked
Posts 49
Points 740
Brett_McS replied on Tue, Oct 16 2007 6:57 AM

The basic position of an economist is that it is not a good idea to force the supply of a commodity into the hands of a monopoly.

Money provides a service - it is itself a valuable commodity - so it is therefore best if the supply of money is subject to free competition.

That's the main point.  Whether or not a Gold Standard based currency would be better than some other type would therefore be a matter for the market to work out.

In general we know that private suppliers have no trouble at all in providing a better product than government.  There are no episodes of fully free banking, but the partial free banking episodes that did occur in history (in Scotland, Australia and I believe the US) indicate this expectation to be reasonable in the case of money also.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 49
Points 740
Brett_McS replied on Tue, Oct 16 2007 7:21 AM

Some references if you are interested:

• Friedrich Hayek: The Denationalization of Money
  • Lawrence White: Competition and Currency
  • Kevin Dowd: Free Banking
  • | Post Points: 20