Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Safe currencies

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 9 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
225 Posts
Points 4,195
Vladimir Ulyanov posted on Thu, Nov 3 2011 2:18 PM

I have been trying to convince my parents to put their money into precious metals for the past few years, however, they have continuously refused to do so. After recent events with the Euro they have finally agreed that they need to geet their money out of the Euro, but they are only willing to put their money into other currencies.

I don't really know which currency would be good though. I know that the Swiss Franc was good, but after their recent depreciation, I'm not sure whether it is a good currency. I have also heard that the New Zealand Dollar is a good currency, but again I'm no expert.

So my question is, what is a good currency for them to put their money into?

P.S. We live in Ireland which used to use the Púnt; if that's any help.

'' The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge.'' Stephen Hawking

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Male
2,493 Posts
Points 39,355
Ireland produced some gold coins a few years back. The krugerrand is legal tender. Ask your parents why one piece of paper is worth more than another
Keep the faith, Strannix. -Casey Ryback, Under Siege (Steven Seagal)
  • | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Male
16 Posts
Points 275