Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Advice on choosing a college

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 3
Points 90
SmallestMinority Posted: Mon, Jun 16 2008 4:34 PM

I have been scouring the internet for information on the best libertarian/Austrian leaning Economics programs for both undergraduate and Ph.D.  I am currently in active duty military service but will be leaving the Air Force in December of 2009 and would like to pursue an academic career in Economics.  I'm a non-typical undergraduate being married and 27 years old by the time I separate from the military.  I'm considering George Mason and Auburn for an undergraduate program.  Dr. David Henderson of the Naval Postgraduate School suggested Clemson as a Ph.D. program.

I've read Mark Skousen's guide to Austrian programs, but I'd like to hear the suggestions of members here.  I'm not only interested in the school itself but opportunities for education, volunteering, and support from organizations in the surrounding area.  For example, Auburn has the Von Mises Institute and GMU has the Institute for Humane Studies.

Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 5,255
Points 80,815
ForumsAdministrator
SystemAdministrator

Block has a more comprehensive guide than Skousen (for those interested, this is what is being referred to), which was posted up in the economics forum. TBH, I haven't been to any of those unis so I can't really offer much more advice. What is your quantitative background?

-Jon

Freedom of markets is positively correlated with the degree of evolution in any society...

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Male
Posts 3
Points 90

Thanks, Jon.  I haven't taken any serious quantitative courses at the college level.  I graduated high school with a little exposure to calculus.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 5,255