Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Voting with our pocketbooks

rated by 0 users
This post has 3 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 50
doncooper Posted: Sun, Jun 22 2008 6:55 PM

As an economist I've often thought of how we can express our wishes as a republic in such a way as for them not to be watered down by the time they get to the top as is the case with our current political system of primaries and delegates and super-delegates and state conventions and national conventions and the like. How can we actually vote and be sure that our vote matters thus giving people the incentive to vote in the first place? How can the wishes of the people really be carried out?

My first thoughts in this day and age of high-speed technology are to allow the people to vote directly on issues that in the past were left to congress. Why couldn't we vote online, for example, rather than letting our untrustoworthy representatives vote? Why couldn't people sitting at their computer's simply go to the "Congressional Bill's" page everyday and vote on the issues? How simple and easy is that?

In this day and age it is possible for the people to actually speak and be heard across the country on a daily basis.

This would take all the special interest influence out of the political process. The will of the people would rule, not a corrupt government. The government itself would be cut down to constitutional size and allowed to operate only within those parameters.

Of course there are problems with technology and voting as the election in 2000 showed us and corrupt politicians can still affect the outcome of the vote or use the law maliciously to their advantage.