Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Labour theory of property vs Subjective theory of property

rated by 0 users
This post has 23 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 13
Points 305
LiberTed Posted: Wed, Mar 21 2012 11:31 AM

I have spent some time thinking of what exactly makes someone own something, but I could not figure out an exact answer. "The labour theory of property" (I own something if I mix my labour with it) is often cited as a justification for ownership, but I have felt that it does not fully convince me.

The use of the word "labour" got me thinking about "The labour theory of value" and then about "The subjective theory of value". As I was thinking I started playing with the thought of a "Subjective theory of property".

I took the principle of the stv (something has value because I think it has) and applied it to property. This basically made it "Someone owns property because I think they do" or "I value your ownership over an object more than I would value my ownership over it". By this I mean, for example, that you own your jacket because others think you do and that they value your ownership over it more than they would value their ownership over the jacket. Since if they did not do this and stole your jacket from you, they would probably suffer some sort of conflict, such as guilt, shame, ostracism or punishment. Most people value your ownership over the jacket more than they value conflict, which makes you the owner of the jacket. Although this valuing is a subjective process and does not apply to everyone.