Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Austrians and the Environment

rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 145
jctruman Posted: Sun, Apr 8 2012 1:25 PM

I am new to libertarian philosophy and would like to ask the members of the mises.org forums how exactly would Austrians try to prevent environmental degradation?  From the papers and blog entries I've read about the subject it seems that Austrians think that private owners of the environment would act to preserve it.   However what if a situation arises where the private property owner gains personally from degrading the environment and externalizes the cost onto other people.  The victims in this case may not know the origin of the pollutants.  For instance a company may dump chemicals into a river.  For victims downriver it may be impossible or extremely expensive to trace the source.  Another example would be burying radioactive waste that eventually leaches into the groundwater.  What's the Austrian solution to these problems?

• | Post Points: 50
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 6,953
Points 118,135

Welcome to the Mises forum!  Be sure to check out the newbie thread for forum tips and how-to's.

For some resources on your question:

"Environmental Preservation: A Matter of Property"

"Austrians on the Environment"

"An Austrian Theory of Environmental Economics"

"A Primer on Natural Resources and the Environment"

"Environmentalism Without Government"

"Privatizing Climate Policy"

"Law, Property Rights, and Air Pollution"

Property rights and pollution.

Free market environmentalism in today's world

Playlist: The Environment and Natural Resources

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 6,885
Points 121,845
Clayton replied on Sun, Apr 8 2012 3:29 PM

degrading the environment and externalizes the cost onto other people.