Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

What Austrian economics books do you reccomend for a beginner?

rated by 0 users
This post has 38 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 260
chuckduck764 Posted: Fri, May 11 2012 7:21 PM

I'm relatively new to researching economics, so I guess you could say I'm a beginner in my understanding of economics. I've been a libertarian for a couple of years, but I'm only in high school, so my knowledge is somewhat limited. So far I've read The Revolution by Ron Paul, Economics in One Lesson by Henry Hazlit, Meltdown by Thomas Woods, and I'm almost done with The Law by Frederic Bastiat.

I have recently purchased Man Economy and State with Power and Market, Human Action, The Denationalization of Money, The Road to Serfdom, The Case Against the Fed, Liberty Defined, End the Fed, America's Great Depression, and the Theory of Money and Credit.

I was wondering, for a beginner, which of the above books would you reccomend reading first in order to gain a more general understanding of Austrian economics and/or libertarian political theory? All imput is greatly apreciated.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 6,953
Points 118,135

Welcome to the forum!  Great to have you.  You're off to a great start.

First, I highly recommend checking out The Ultimate Beginner meta-thread.  That's the one-stop place to start.  (Be sure to check out the welcome.) You'll probably want to bookmark it, as it's a major collection of links for things you might want to look into in the future and refer back to.