Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Stefan Molyneux responds to David Gordon.

This post has 71 Replies | 10 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 140
libertarian_conspiracy Posted: Sat, Jul 7 2012 11:25 AM

'So it appears that I have been thoroughly called out by David Gordon at Mises.org, ridiculed for my "preposterously bad" reasoning, told that I should learn how to construct basic arguments, and been loftily informed that I have failed miserably in my philosophical goals. The article is called The Molyneux Problem, and it is a review of my free book Universally Preferable Behavior: A Rational Proof of Secular Ethics. (By the way, I have asked Mises.org whether they will publish this response, but I have received no reply.)

I must admit that I am always skeptical when a review starts with insults - when I studied acting and playwriting at the National Theatre School in Montréal, I was always told to "show it, don't say it!" If my arguments are illogical, showing this will surely reveal my incompetence - the insults are unnecessary. The logical fallacy involved is called "poisoning the well." '

Read the rest of the response here.

http://board.freedomainradio.com/forums/t/35935.aspx

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 244
Points 3,770
MMMark replied on Sat, Jul 7 2012 1:04 PM

Sat. 12/07/07 14:04 EDT
.post #208

Just a tangential note here:

I suggest editing your tags and separating the tags words with semi-colons. This will create multiple tags and hence multiple opportunities for people to find this post.

As it stands, your (single) tag is just one long string of words, a string which is highly unlikely to ever be typed as a search term.

For example, a search for the word "atheism" (one of your tags) does not result in locating your post. Try it here:

http://mises.org/Community/tags/default.aspx

My suggestion:

Replace