Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

How are people protected from violence in a libertarian society?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 9 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
3 Posts
Points 100
Brycel_young posted on Wed, Sep 19 2012 4:49 PM

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to understanding Austrian economics, but I'm very excited about it all and eager to learn more. One question I have is how are individuals protected from violence of others? I've read a couple places that government should exist, but only to protect the safety of individuals. Is this a common belief, or are there other ways that would deal with the problem more effectively. For example, I'm thinking of cases such as someone mugging someone else. What happens to the mugger? In that case, what role does the government play, and how is the government kept from over-stepping its bounds (i.e. declaring high-emissions vehicles to be endangering others). Thank you for your help!

• | Post Points: 95

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
2,679 Posts
Points 45,110

These do not directly answer your question, but they will be immensely helpful to you in understanding law and its role in society:

What Law Is

A Praxeological Account of Law

Crusoe, Morality, and Axiomatic Libertarianism

• | Post Points: 5
Top 200 Contributor
421 Posts
Points 7,165

Welcome!

People will be protected in a similar manner that they are provided with food or cell phones or anything else: markets. 

Hopefully JJ will be here soon to provide you with a plethora of useful links to understand more thoroughly how this could be done.

The only one worth following is the one who leads... not the one who pulls; for it is not the direction that condemns the puller, it is the rope that he holds.

Top 100 Contributor
Male
853 Posts
Points 17,830