Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Teach Kids How to Think - How?

rated by 0 users
This post has 27 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,028
Points 51,580
limitgov Posted: Tue, Oct 2 2012 10:40 AM

I'm a teacher.  People always say we need to teach kids how to think.

What lessons would you create to teach kids how to think?  I'm interested in teaching my students "how to think", but I'm not sure what the lessons would be like.  I'm willing to use what the people on this forum come up with if its something good.

• | Post Points: 110
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,679
Points 45,110
gotlucky replied on Tue, Oct 2 2012 10:47 AM

Introduce basic logic. You can even stick with just informal logic. Teach them common logical fallacies and show them examples "in the wild".

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,028
Points 51,580
limitgov replied on Tue, Oct 2 2012 11:03 AM

can you give me examples of what you would actually have the students do?

keep in mind all of my students have access to a computer in front of them.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 25 Contributor
Male
Posts 4,922
Points 79,590
Autolykos replied on Tue, Oct 2 2012 11:38 AM

Along with what GotLucky said, I'd start with the three laws of thought. I think kids already understand them intuitively, but I think it's good to articulate/formalize them as well.

The keyboard is mightier than the gun.

Non parit potestas ipsius auctoritatem.

Voluntaryism Forum

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 260
Points 4,015