Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Intellectual Property in the Arts - How to enforce?

rated by 0 users
This post has 160 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 80
Points 1,510
Mike99 Posted: Thu, Oct 4 2012 2:53 PM

I'm studying libertarianism, free market capitalism, etc. and so far, I'm loving it, it's like a re-awakening to obvious things I knew but didn't know.

One thing that bugs me lately is seeing libertarians, or some that call themselves objectivists and so on, basically trashing intellectual property rights. They say, if I have this right - that once the idea leaves your body, it's a free for all. I can't explain why yet, but I believe this to be wrong, and I'd like to hear some ideas on this issue. I mean, if an artist spends 6 weeks in an expensive studio crafting a masterpiece of recorded music, why should he NOT hold the rights to the master, not only as a physical piece of property but as intellectual property. Why can someone copy his song, and take his credit?

That's one question. Then, assuming you are going to have IP rights, how do you enforce it? I'm against government force. I believe it just can't be trusted. From my point of view, government is notihng but a corporation with a bunch of monopolies, the end result is murder, theft, genocide, and more.  I don't care what flag they wave.

But how do you enforce IP? Take music for example. The internet allows sharing. Perhaps the worst thing you could do is criminalise the end consumer, listening to music as crime is even more abhorrent to me than a free for all. So how to do it?