Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Intellectual Property in the Arts - How to enforce?

rated by 0 users
This post has 160 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 6,885
Points 121,845
Clayton replied on Fri, Oct 5 2012 11:39 AM

+1 Winder...

You nailed it! I'm an amateur pianist and I will attest that the competition in the music industry is insane. But people always value a live performance because there's just something pleasant about it, something more human and "real" about people actually playing instruments as opposed to just cranking up a CD.

But the recording industry has the effect of crowding out all but the "select few". Music - particularly pop music - is an inherently "diverse" line of production... people want variety, a variety of music from a variety of artists. The copyright protections are reducing the amount of variety and squeezing out innumerable potential artists in favor of endowing a few chosen artists with untold fortunes and this is sold to us as "capitalism", the "necessary risk/reward to incentivize musical production"... complete and total nonsense.

Clayton -

http://voluntaryistreader.wordpress.com
  • | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Male
Posts 80
Points 1,510
Mike99 replied on Fri, Oct 5 2012 11:51 AM

Tex & Phi - thanks for those suggestions, I will check thos eout properly and come back to the discussion - seems like they are a prerequisite.