Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Is the state coercive?

rated by 0 users
This post has 39 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 257
Points 5,000
QuisCustodiet Posted: Sun, Oct 14 2012 8:31 PM

This is my first time posting on the forum. In all seriousness, I have been plagued in recent weeks with the title of this post.

Let's suppose that a young man living with his parents in the apartment in which he was raised has just turned 18. His parents move out and leave him to pay for the rent, utilities, etc., which are the conditions of his continuing to live there. The rent is $500 per week (or if it helps illustrate the point, say, 20% of his income), and all residents must show up once a week at the YMCA pool to compete with the tenants of other apartment buildings in water polo, and no tenant may cook for his or herself, meaning all food is supplied by the landlord, and outside food is illegal.

Now, is this 18-year-old being subjected to involuntary servitude by his landlord? Is this theft, kidnaping, or slavery?

I would imagine not, on the grounds that he may leave to find another place to live if he finds these conditions objectionable, and prefers not to be forced to comply with them. His landlord has placed no restrictions on moving into a different apartment building if he so chooses. If he tries to stay and not meet the conditions established by the landlord, the landlord will kick the young man out, or punish him in a cage in the apartment’s basement.

So how is it that the "If you don't like it, you can move" argument is sound for the case of the young man in the apartment, but not for the people living under a state?