Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Arguments against the Non-Aggression Principle

rated by 0 users
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 151
Points 2,705
fountainhead Posted: Sat, Dec 1 2012 7:38 PM

I wanted to share this video series from a left-wing anarchist with you guys in case you haven't seen it and also get your thoughts on how you would respond to anarchopac's criticisms.

Funny, I've been a "libertarian" since around 2002 (though, more like a small-government Republican back then) and I studied philosophy, including moral philosophy, in university around the same time, but I'm still relatively new to marrying the moral and political aspects of libertarianism together in the Non-Aggression Principle. So here's my newbie-ish attempt at responding to his criticisms:

1. The problem of personhood - Supposedly, defining "personhood" as being a homo-sapien can't work with the NAP because it would mean that euthanizing someone in order to end their pain and suffering would be a violation of the principle. In order to follow the NAP you would have to keep a suffering person alive. Can't we say that euthanasia may indeed be morally wrong, but depending on the circumstances, to not euthanize someone might constitute an even worse initiation of violence because of the suffering it causes for the person?