Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

The Reminiscing Thread

This post has 68 Replies | 7 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Male
Posts 947
Points 22,055
Student replied on Sat, Dec 15 2012 10:49 PM

According to my profile, i've been posting here for 3 years (mostly lurking). So I can't remember all the high lights. :P

In terms of recent threads I've enjoyed, I really liked Neodoxy's thread about Stimulus and the Broken Window Fallacy. Even though the thread was perpetually derailed, I think a lot of good points were raised. The discussion wound up being timely too, considering Hurricane Sandy happened not long afterward.

I also want to reminisce about a lot of good posters that I don't see post any more. Esuric, Lagrange Multiplier, Stranger, Strange Loop, hayekianxyz, laminustacitus, others. Hopefully they'll find their way over to the new forums.

Either way, this forum has been a lot of fun. I actually learned a lot from many of the people here. I will be sad to see it go. C'est la vie.  

Ambition is a dream with a V8 engine - Elvis Presley

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Male
Posts 2,943
Points 49,130
SystemAdministrator
Conza88 replied on Sun, Dec 16 2012 8:32 AM

Re: "OMG anyone remember "poster of the month"? I don't remember why that died"

Because it was essentially a circle jerk motion, given to the 'favourites'.. mostly of a certain forum faction? (Saying that as a recipient).

Re: "the KnightofBAWAA if anyone remembers him."

Legend. Great mod before he was ousted/banned when Danny took over and wanted to change the forum dynamic. Would not relent if you were on the wrong side of the argument and continued to try get by the laws of logic.

Reminiscing Thread...

When posts were longer, more considered and less 'chatty'.

When it seemed like everyone had something considerable to add.