Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Teaching

rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 16
Points 380
wegreenall Posted: Thu, Jan 17 2013 4:17 AM

I'm an english teacher in Greece at the moment, and over the last two years have been formulating my conception of my dream job: teaching economics. At whatever level. I love the subject and have done for a long time, but didn't know in time to apply for university after i left college (ie, high school in england).

I am planning to go to university, and originally wanted to go to Madrid to learn with Jesus De Soto, whilst considering other options. I want to get in a position where i can teach economics (and have read about these community colleges in America), and i don't mind if that's at the undergraduate level or not. I am not expecting to try and get in a position to be influencing academia, i just want to teach. If i can do this at an undergraduate level, that would be incredible, if not, I don't mind. For this I will need a phd. This does not faze me, but of course i want to maximise my chances by picking the right schools. Would my chances be hurt by staying at one university for the entirety of the process of getting degree-masters-phd? would that help me teach at that university? would i be able to become an assistant professor at another university? A lot of the advice for grad students is about becoming super-research guys, as far as i can tell. I am more interested in teaching (as i doubt i will have any particularly novel ideas, but who knows).

So i was also thinking of the Athens university of Economics and Business, which is very highly regarded but very hard to get into. Or perhaps another greek university. All of these are very difficult questions.