Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Thoughts on New Classical Economics?

rated by 0 users
This post has 3 Replies | 0 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Male
Posts 2,439
Points 44,650
Neodoxy Posted: Sun, Feb 17 2013 5:41 PM

I'm still new to the subject, although I'll probably be voicing a rather strong opinion on the subject before long, but I was wondering if anyone here was familiar with/had thoughts on "New Classical economics". Note that this is NOT neo-classical economics, although it could be considered the logical extension of the theory.

You can find more about it here and here if you really take an interest

I'm predisposed to dislike the approach because it takes away from the eternally shifting and uncertain nature of the market and is wholly opposed to the essence of Austrian economics, much like the essence of the Chicago School's EMH. I also have a suspicion that in reality they have a very hard time really explaining business cycles as well. I think that the best within the school is rational expectations, although they probably radically overestimate how much the theory really holds.

Thoughts?

At last those coming came and they never looked back With blinding stars in their eyes but all they saw was black...
  • | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 836
Points 15,370
abskebabs replied on Mon, Feb 25 2013 4:47 AM

Might I ask what level of education you're at?

The reason is, extrapolating from my own experience and that of others I've spoken to, much undergraduate and almost all graduate level macro is new classical and new keynesian macro, as far as business cycles/fluctuations go with the other half of the course being Ramsey growth theory using Optimal control methods and all its modern spinoffs.