Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Misean Regression Theorem ??

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 85
fustruly Posted: Sun, Mar 24 2013 11:28 PM

Hello everyone! I am new to Austrian economics and am trying to understand the Misean regression theorem and how it applies to fiat money and debit cards.
If a nation were to start a new fiat currency with no intrinsic value and did not charge taxes, am I understanding correctly that the Misean regression theorem states this would never actually achieve the status of money? And if it did charge taxes, this would instill an intrinsic value, and so it could achieve the status of money? What if the money were tied to another money, as the Omani rial is to the dollar - does this instill an intrinsic value in the medium?

How does the Misean regression theorem apply to digital representations of money exchanged via debit cards? Why do these seem to have achieved status as money (or am I just wrong about that)? Does it have something to do with the fixed exchange rate between dollars and digital dollars (not sure about terminology here)?

Thanks so much for any help you can provide!

snowpigandsadcowfriend.tumblr.com
  • | Post Points: 50
Top 25 Contributor
Male
Posts 4,249
Points 70,775

If a nation were to start a new fiat currency with no intrinsic value and did not charge taxes, am I understanding correctly that the Misean regression theorem states this would never actually achieve the status of money?

Check.

And if it did charge taxes, this would instill an intrinsic value, and so it could achieve the status of money?