Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

ABCT and a-priorism

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 4 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 200 Contributor
Male
390 Posts
Points 7,705
Prashanth Perumal posted on Thu, May 2 2013 12:52 AM

I have been studying the ABCT for the past two months, and while most of the theory makes sense to me, there is one that puts me in doubt.

As argued in the ABCT, an increase in the proportion of savings against consumption leads to the addition of new stages to the production structure. What I'm skeptical about is: when we assume increase in savings would necessarily cause more roundabout methods of production to be adopted, aren't we assuming that there are more roundabout techniques of production available?

If so, shouldn't the validity of the ABCT be tested empirically rather than being asserted as an a-priori conclusion?

• | Post Points: 35

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Male
2,439 Posts
Points 44,650

"when we assume increase in savings would necessarily cause more roundabout methods of production to be adopted, aren't we assuming that there are more roundabout techniques of production available?"

Yes, because this is a very realistic assumption. However, if this were not the case then we would either see a broadening of the production structure at the later stages of production, or if even this wasn't profitable we would see a precipitous fall in the rate of interest (the demand for loans would be vertical beyond that point because more revenue couldn't be received throughout the economy as a whole). Such a state of affairs is unlikely to ever occur

"If so, shouldn't the validity of the ABCT be tested empirically rather than being asserted as an a-priori conclusion?"

How?