Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Case for Gold; Debating my Professor

This post has 62 Replies | 15 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 190
gfitzy123 Posted: Thu, Nov 8 2007 2:25 PM

So, our class erupted into a gold-standard discussion the other day, and being an Austrian-leaning student myself, couldn't find an rebutal to my professor's arguement against the gold standard.

His arguement, essentially: "we don't have enough gold in the world to back every dollar"

Can someone please refute his statement and explain it in depth?

Can someone please explain in depth how we could transition from our current fiat monetary system to a gold standard?

If I am correct, we must first deflate our money supply, and under the gold standard, prices will fall and our purchasing power would increase...

• | Post Points: 110
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 108
Points 2,460
Harksaw replied on Thu, Nov 8 2007 2:53 PM

http://mises.com/forums/t/303.aspx

I asked a similar question here. Basically the option is to have semi-fiat, semi-gold dollars, starting wtih $1 as 1/3000 of an ounce. Stop printing more money and gradually work to get the dollar on parity with the market value of the gold in our reserves.

And I think that were the US to try to move back to the gold standard, the market value of gold would drastically increase.

I was talking with one of the heads of the Libertarian Party the other day, and he told me it wouldn't be feasible to go back to the gold standard because it would make the cost of products that requrie gold (like electronics circuit boards) about five times more expensive. He thought another metal would be better.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Male
Posts 72
Points 1,440