Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Ron Paul and Gold

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,205
Points 20,670
JAlanKatz Posted: Thu, Nov 15 2007 8:44 AM
Here's a question that occured to me this morning while I was daydreaming. I have been buying gold for several years now, acquiring when I have money on hand, and I started buying in the 200s. Gold is now at around 800, but still off from my prediction of 5000, so buying on down days still seems reasonable. Since it has fallen a good deal today, I was preparing to buy some (the dip in price for the day would be equal to my shipping, which is my buying signal). However, my prediction of gold 5000 only makes sense if Ron Paul loses, and the hyperinflationary nonsense continues. If he wins, I'd lose. So buying gold in the 700s gives me a conflict of interest - of course I want Paul to win, but I'm buying assets that will likely fall in value if he does. So buying gold is a bet against Ron Paul. A couple ideas follow: 1-Don't buy gold. 2-Buy gold as a hedge - at least I'll still have something if the greatest hope for the past century fails. In this case, I'll just buy gold equal to the amount I donate up to my donation limit, and donate the remainder to Mises or LewRockwell. 3-Arbitrage between gold, contracts on Ron Paul's chance of winning, and other assets that would do well under Paul, so that neither outcome costs or gains much. Then another thought occured to me, which is actually the point of my writing. After an event involving Ron Paul, perhaps we should check the gold price. A decline in gold shows that smart money believes Ron Paul's chances have increased, while an increase in gold shows the opposite.
  • | Post Points: 35
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 251
Points 4,510
leonidia replied on Thu, Nov 15 2007 11:03 AM