Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Free Market Has Failed - Externalities Debate - Please Help

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 2 verified answers | 8 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
23 Posts
Points 535
DPatty posted on Fri, Nov 21 2008 12:52 PM

I am a university student and have just recently begun reading about Austrian Economics. I have read a few good books so far, but am currently just getting "the basics" under my belt.

Recently in my school some of the students have been learning in their economics courses "why the free-market fails". As they have heard that I am recently a believer in the free-market, they have sort of begun to attack me on my ideas, and I have had a hard time defending due to my still new exposure to this area of study. I am asking if anyone here could direct me to online PDF's or articles I could read to aid me in my defense. Or, preferred if possible, help me address their arguments or bring up scenarios to help address their attacks.

Their main argument is centered around externalities. My understanding so far seems to tell me that most of these externalities are solved with clear property rights. They however keep asking "how can we have property rights for things such as air?". I have come across so far articles talking about privatizing things such as roads, and even rivers....but air I have yet to come across and seems like the most difficult one of them all.  They ask me to visualize a factory that is pumping toxic gas emissions into the air and hurting people further away. What is the free-market's answer to this?

Thanks in advance guys, I know this is the forum to come to for help on this.

• | Post Points: 35

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 10 Contributor
Male
5,255 Posts
Points 80,815
ForumsAdministrator
SystemAdministrator
Verified by DPatty