Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Intellectual Property and the Composer

rated by 0 users
This post has 35 Replies | 7 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 244
Points 4,890
JackSkylark Posted: Sat, Jan 24 2009 12:01 PM

I am a musician and a composer. I develop, over the course of eight years, a new musical composition. Under IP, I would be protected for what I would surely consider theft. But, without IP, once shown in public, the score could easily be copied and sold at a much lower rate than I could afford (since I would have to factor in the cost of eight years of time while anyone with a copy would not).

I chose this because its specific nature (and because I am in somewhat of the same position). Given this scenario, should it be legaly wrong for someone to copy, pass off as their own, or "pirate" - what I created? Or, should it be perfectly legal? Of course, the consumer benefits in the short run - they get a cheaper product (in this case it could be free) - but are there long term consequences to not having some protection for very specific ideas?

Another scenario could be, right when Rothbard unveils "Man, Economy, and State" - Joe down the lane copies it (maybe even puts his name on it) and sells it way below Rothbard would have. Doesn't this discourage the development of ideas that can't be hidden once they are released?

• | Post Points: 90
Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 11,343
Points 194,945
ForumsAdministrator
SystemAdministrator

Oh wow.  Have you read anything on this subject at Mises.org yet?

It's all been covered many times, and while it's probably good to refresh the topic now and again, this has been debated a LOT lately.

What is legal, and what is right, are two different things.  It's illegal to smoke pot, it is not wrong to smoke pot.

http://mises.org/Community/forums/t/5881.aspx