Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

McDonald's Senior Coffee (I'm a newbie)

rated by 0 users
This post has 39 Replies | 10 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
Male
Posts 783
Points 14,645
ryanpatgray Posted: Mon, Dec 3 2007 2:10 PM

I was ordering food at a local Burger King today and an elderly gentleman was complaining about the cost of coffee there. “At McDonalds you can get senior coffee for 53 Cents.” he said. He was referring to a phenomenon that I have seen elsewhere, pricing for special groups of people. In this case, McDonalds was willing to sell him the same product in the same container for a lower price due to his age. Sometimes this goes the other direction with “kids tickets” to circuses or “student” pricing at movie theaters if you can show you have a college or university ID. I can see an advantage to lowering prices for young people if you want to get them “hooked” before they reach their peak of buying power. This is one reason Microsoft sells student priced software. But what of McDonald’s “senior coffee?” Is this because they think these people are less likely to buy the product at all? Is this a loss leader for people who generally do not buy fast food? Under what business model does selling the same product in the same container to senior citizens for a lower price make sense? I am not complaining by the way, I am just asking from an economic point of view.

I am an eklektarchist not an anarchist.

Educational Pamphlet Mises Group

• | Post Points: 110
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 4,532
Points 84,495

Demand elasticity is different for different groups of people, which is how price discrimination comes about. While old people are not willing to pay as much for coffee as active people, they will patronize the stores outside of peak hours, meaning the marginal demand/marginal cost equilibrium will be lower.