Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Austrianism = unscientific

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 98 Replies | 10 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Male
341 Posts
Points 6,375
sirmonty posted on Mon, Feb 9 2009 12:36 AM

In discussing economics with a person, they made the claim that Austrian economics is unscientific.  When asked how it is unscientific, they simply linked the following link.

How would mises.org respond to this:

http://www.huppi.com/kangaroo/L-aussm.htm

• | Post Points: 110

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 200 Contributor
Male
397 Posts
Points 6,785
Verified by laminustacitus

I am an Engineer.   I will tell you this.  To predict an outcome you must understand the fundamental principles underlying the topic under consideration.  The principles of chemistry, physics, thermodynamics, electronics, etc.. are all logically derived from laws - facts.  Principles that are derived from facts & laws (axioms) are sound and last the test of time.  Austrian Econ. is a science, not necessarily based on statistics, mathematical models and theories, but based on logic derived principles from facts underlying human behavior.

Modern day economics consist of simplistic models, diagrams, math and jargon.  Many created to model observed past statistics.  This is not science.  It's curve fitting.  You cannot fundamentally predict the outcome of an event based on curve fitting.   Modern day economics is not science.  It's guess work.

• | Post Points: 40

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Male
2,959 Posts
Points 55,095

sirmonty:

Well I pointed that out, but he seems content on continually asserting that calculus and mathematical models are essential to economic theory.