Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

My own personal take on the economy as a "poor person" in America.

rated by 0 users
This post has 62 Replies | 8 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 768
Points 12,035
ladyattis Posted: Thu, Jul 2 2009 6:37 PM

As most here well know that I'm a college student (senior year), so for me finding work has been hard, even in the best of economic times (as college students are perceived as flight risks from jobs, and this is generally proven to be true statistically).

Last year, I had enough of a job in which I was more or less not only left with a great responsibility of maintaining a kitchen at a grocery store (it was a chinese kitchen) in the evenings, but in this case those who were selected to be under my responsibility were in themselves quite irresponsible in their own duties; taking extra breaks when customers were still waiting on meals and/or appetizers. I simply quit the job; no two weeks notice, no complaining to the store supervisor, or anything. I think now that it was a bad choice in the long term, but also I think it was a good choice in the longer term in as much as it allowed me to sharpen my skills in my degree major (computer science and software development). Still, the price was a nice income that fed me well and kept the bills paid up in advance. Now, I've been searching for a job at any level of skill that I could fill (fast food, janitorial, and my degree major in CS as a support technician (phone based is usually was what I found in demand)). It's not easy when money is tight and the bills are tighter, but I'm glad that even now I did find a job.