Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Guys, help me out here...

rated by 0 users
This post has 22 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 26
Points 770
Omoplata Posted: Wed, Jul 15 2009 7:09 PM

I will try and keep a long story short but in a nutshell, I post on a sci-fi/fantasy forum and one of the topics is Libertarian Sci-Fi.  Everything was going along as normal, members were recommending good libertarian sci-fi books and authors, etc...All of a sudden, one of the more pompus asses of the site start bashing libertarians saying they think they are so smart blah blah blah...this was one of his posts...I am a novice libertarian and really have no clue what this nitwit is saying...Help me out here guys if you don't mind...

Here is is post:

This Libertarianism pretends to operate in a historical vacuum. Ultimately a lot of property was obtained by war.

In 1995 the number of automobiles in the US passed 200,000,000. At $1,500 in depreciation per car per year that is $300,000,000,000 lost in depreciation every year. If you check the book
The Millionaire Next Door it says that 36% of millionaires buy used cars. Now why would they do that?

Depreciation is bad for NET WORTH so if one is managing one's wealth properly he should be thinking about depreciation before a purchase is made.

When do you ever hear economists talk about Demand Side Depreciation. If you research Net Domestic Product, which economists don't mention much, you will see they only track Supply Side Depreciation. This system depends on consumers being STUPID.