Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

What monetary and trade policy should the United States pursue with China?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 11 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
58 Posts
Points 2,060
tcostel posted on Mon, Mar 7 2011 1:33 AM

...and China with the US? And why? Many argue more protectionist policies, but that seems to go against the free market. What would an austrian argue?

All Replies

Not Ranked
Male
99 Posts
Points 1,465

Both should eliminate all trade barriers, but even if one remains protectionist, the other should still remove all trade barriers. You can't lose by trade freedom. Protectionism hurts every nation, to the benefit of very specific industries, and national pride.

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
76 Posts
Points 1,240

In many ways China is harming itself more than America, its citizens are getting less money than they should be, while Americans are enjoying standards of living that I personally believe do not match the  productivity.I suspect that most people here will argue that it is not governments role to be conducting trade policies in the first place. I am no CCP fan, but that is no excuse to block trade with the Chinese, because like in most protectionist cases, the losers are the average citizens not the government.

The question I prefer is: "Should America be pursuing a trade/policy with China, or should businesses/individual be left to decide on how they trade with others".

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Male
58 Posts
Points 2,060

but even if one remains protectionist, the other should still remove all trade barriers.

Why? How could the country still benefit without compliance with the other? (I am playing some devil's advocate here)

• | Post Points: 35
Top 25 Contributor
Male
4,249 Posts
Points 70,775