Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Looking for a good Finance textbook!

rated by 0 users
This post has 16 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 225
Jas0n Posted: Wed, Aug 10 2011 10:55 AM

Hey there,

I am quite new to Austrian economics and on a very steep learning curve right now. I was just wondering whether there are also various slants/schools to Finance (like Austrian/Chicago/Keynesian etc in economics) or whether any Finance textbook will do for someone interested in gaining some financial knowledge in addition to economics. Also, could you possibely recommend a good introductory level book to finances.

Your time and help is greatly appreciated.

Jason.

• | Post Points: 50
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 6,953
Points 118,135
John James replied on Wed, Aug 10 2011 11:03 AM

Be sure to check out this thread.

But as for general finance, are you just looking to learn about financial math, or how the stock market works, or financial accounting, or what?

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 225
Jas0n replied on Wed, Aug 10 2011 11:08 AM

Sorry I haven't been more clear. Financial modelling is probably much too advanced for me at this stage, I also have to do some considerable brushing up on my math skills. What I am looking for is understanding the financial world in terms of banking, institutions/corporations etc. 

I am 18 years of age and am intrigued with Austrian economics. However I find that I must acquire some basic knowledge about the structure of the financial system to clear some things up when I try to understand the concepts of fractional reserve banking, the trickle down effects of inflation etc.