Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Domino effect of failing banks, role of inflation, and critique of Austrian economics

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 62 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 200 Contributor
Male
478 Posts
Points 10,295
FlyingAxe posted on Wed, Feb 1 2012 8:00 AM

A cousin of my wife is an investor (his political beliefs are moderately conservative). I've been having a discussion with him about Austrian economics and the current events. He is clearly not an Austrian, and although I read articles on Mises.org, I am a biologist, and he is an investor, so he clearly knows more than I do. I was interested what people might say to some of his arguments (not so that I can rebuke him, but so that I understand more clearly why he is wrong).

I am quoting from his latest reply:

1.  The money supply needs to increase along with the growth rate of the economy to get zero inflation.  That way, there are more dollars out there when the total value of goods and services goes up. [In the previous e-mail, he claimed that while excessive inflation if clearly bad, some level of inflation needs to happen. So, once the government establishes that "healthy" level of inflation, things will be hunky-dory.]

I agree that going off the gold standard caused much of the hyperinflation of the '70s.  Since that was brought under control, inflation has been relatively tame.  It was the transition to fiat currency that caused the hyperinflation, not being on it. 

Yes, the economy grew in the 19th century, but it was a tiny fraction of the growth we have had in the last 30 years!  Lack of inflation doesn't lead to no growth, it leads to very slow growth.