Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Industrial Rev / Guilded Age Philosphy in History Books

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 23 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
8 Posts
Points 235
Cari posted on Wed, Feb 1 2012 4:01 PM

Greetings,

I am a first-time poster here on Mises. In looking over the comments and articles here, it looks like I will fit in!

I am currently a non-traditional student and I am taking a history class, 1865-present. I am having a lot of trouble reconciling what the textbook authors write with my libertarian viewpoints. It seems to me that my text is skewed, that is, the author's interpretation of why history happened rather than just a straight account of what happened.

We are going over parts of the Industrial Revolution and Guilded Age right now. This is what I can sum up so far as the author's views:

1. The Ind Rev spurred the growth of free-market Capitalism in America.
  2. Despite the great wealth and growth of industrialists, the average living person lived in squalor.
  3. Especially during the Guilded Age, workers began to grow very discontented by the great wealth they observed from their industrial employers and got fed up with the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer or staying poor.
  4. Workers believed that the American Dream of equality was being denied to them and they made great efforts that included violence to send the message that employers needed to shape up working conditions.
  5. Workers looked to government to change their conditions because they were unable to effect change on their own.
  6. This set the precendence since. Government was very useful in making sure everyone had equal opportunity and still proves useful today.