Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Why does anyone here care about radical leftists?

rated by 0 users
This post has 42 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,389
Points 21,840

Can you give us some examples of modern-day intellectuals who behave in this manner?

Everything I've seenor heard from Bob Black or Kevin Carson seems to work this way.

I don't know if you wouldcall this modern:

but Sartre works this way

And from the heads and tails I can make of him:

Dierrida works this way

While I find Foucault the most interesting of the bunch, I haven't seen him do much past a geneology, so he could fit under here as well

Everything I have seen or heard from Lacan would also fit 

Note:

I am no expert on any of these dudes, so don't be surprised if I get refuted pretty damn quickly, in fact I kind of suspect I will.  This is just how it has "hit my brain"

"As in a kaleidoscope, the constellation of forces operating in the system as a whole is ever changing." - Ludwig Lachmann

"When A Man Dies A World Goes Out of Existence"  - GLS Shackle

• | Post Points: 5
Top 150 Contributor
Male
Posts 633
Points 11,275
Torsten replied on Sun, Jul 15 2012 11:29 AM

How many "radical" leftists /neo-leftists do you know that have actually made truth claims (even left liberals and soc dems have this problem, though usually they can at least appeal to some form of scientism from time to time)?

They pretty usually even dispute that there is something like truth or at least theya re agnostic about it. Everything is relative, you know. 

For me it seems as if it is  built off of out of bounds skeptical critiques, psychologisms, passive aggressive behaviour, and random social signaling devices